About Us

THE COMMUNITY Media Group was born out of Leys News, Oxford's first community newspaper that was launched as a not-for-profit social enterprise in 1996. Leys News is our flagship paper and is run by local volunteers, with three part-time paid staff.  It is a monthly newspaper that reaches 10,000 local people. As a group, we now produce a total of 13 free community newspapers across Oxford, Reading and Didcot.

Our newspapers are packed with a variety of content and provide communities with access to information, news stories and features that are directly relevant to them. Our hyperlocal approach to news means that we recruit teams of volunteers from the specific communities we work in, and help them to generate content for their papers.

We provide training and learning opportunities for volunteers through the National Council for the Training of Journalists (NCTJ) Certificate in Foundation Journalism. Over the last two years we have provided training for over 200 residents in Oxfordshire and beyond and we continue to support them. Our training is focussed on working with residents in challenging areas to help improve their lives.

Management Team

Group Business Development Manager:
John Charlton

John has a wealth of experience in running and managing businesses, and working with charitable organisations. John's role includes securing funding from sponsors and advertisers, marketing and supporting volunteers.

Group Editor:
Sarah Edwards

Sarah has worked in the media for 27 years as a journalist and media consultant in local and national newspapers, magazines and television. Sarah works with all the community groups to sub edit content and provides training and support to volunteers.

Group Designer:
Julian Dourado

Julian is a graphic designer and is responsible for the layout and design of all our newspapers. Julian also works with customers to design adverts and marketing materials.

Community Media Group would like to thank the following organisations for their support: A2 Dominion, Blackbird Leys Parish Council, Catalyst Housing, GreenSquare Group, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford City Council and Ruskin College.